History

Tongwynlais has a rich history. We’ll be exploring the people, places and events that have shaped our village. Thanks to Carol Spackman, Steve Nicols and John Bulpin for kindly sharing their photos. (See caption for credit)

Village

Castell Coch
Castell Coch – John Bulpin

Iron Bridge
Iron Bridge – John Bulpin

Old Bridge
Old Bridge – John Bulpin

Merthyr Road
Merthyr Road – John Bulpin

Old Cottages
Old Cottages – John Bulpin

Castell Coch Cottages
Castell Coch cottages – Carol Spackman

Castell Coch from Ynys Bridge
Castell Coch from Ynys Bridge – Carol Spackman

The Square, Tongwynlais
The Square, Tongwynlais – Carol Spackman

Cae Lewis, Tongwynlais
Cae Lewis – Carol Spackman

Tongwynlais and Castell Coch
Tongwynlais and Castell Coch – Carol Spackman

Pantgwynlais, Tongwynlais
Pantgwynlais – Carol Spackman

Tongwynlais Merthyr Road
Merthyr Road – Steve Nicols

Tongwynlais Merthyr Road
Merthyr Road – Steve Nicols

Tongwynlais Merthyr Road
Merthyr Road – Steve Nicols

Tongwynlais Merthyr Road
Merthyr Road – Steve Nicols

The Square Tongwynlais
The Lewis Arms – Steve Nicols

Ivy Cottage Tongwynlais
Ivy Cottage – Steve Nicols

Castle Road Tongwynlais
Castle Road – Steve Nicols

Castell Coch

Front of Castell Coch postcard
Castell Coch postcard – Tongwynlais.com

Castell Coch
Castell Coch – Carol Spackman

Walnut Tree Viaduct

Dismantling the Viaduct
Dismantling the Viaduct – John Bulpin

Old Viaduct
Old Viaduct – John Bulpin

Tongwynlais
Tongwynlais – John Bulpin

Latest blog posts

Old postcard featuring drawing of Castell Coch Postcards from Tongwynlais – Part 8 - We’ve got a bumper collection of postcards for you this month. They all feature beautiful pencil sketches of Castell Coch by Joyce Capon. Dating the cards is tricky because they haven’t been posted. They were printed by “William Lewis (Printers) Ltd., 43, Penarth Road, Cardiff.” Some quick research tells me that William Lewis died in ... more...
New Church at Tongwynlais - This month we’re stepping back in time to 1875, when the foundation stone for St Michael’s Church was laid. The Western Mail reported on the ceremony, which took place on 10th June 1875. There’s lots of fascinating information and details about village life in the 19th century. For more history and images of the village ... more...
Old postcard showing aerial photo of Tongwynlais Postcards from Tongwynlais – Part 7 - Today’s postcard is an aerial shot of the village and surrounding valley. The postcard was produced by Photochrom Co. Ltd. They are based in London and Tunbridge Wells and were established in 1896. There’s no date or stamp to tell us when it was produced but the existence of the Walnut Tree Viaduct tells us ... more...

View all history posts